SEE Symposium 2011 Agenda

Monday, 11 April
5:00 - 8:00 PM Registration/Reception
5:00 - 9:00 PM Industrial Exhibit Setup
Tuesday, 12 April
7:30 - 8:30 AM Continental Breakfast
8:30 AM V. Ferlet-Cavrois Welcome and Local Arrangements
8:35 AM N. Haddad Introduction to Technical Program
Invited Talk
8:40 AM Reno Harboe Sørensen 40 years of SEE at ESA/ESTEC
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM Industrial Exhibits Open
Session A: Design and Process Hardening
Chair: K. Avery, AFRL/RVSE
9:30 AM D. F. Heidel, IBM Corp. SEU Hardened SOI Latches
9:50 AM R. W. Blaine, Vanderbilt University A RHBD Bootstrap Current Source Utilizing Sensitive Node Active Charge Cancellation (SNACC)
10:10 AM N. M. Atkinson, Vanderbilt University Design Technique for Mitigation of Soft Errors in Transmission-Gate-Based Switched-Capacitor
10:30 - 11:00 AM Break
11:00 AM V. Bratov, ADSANTEC I2C Digital Interface Block Based on a 130nm Radiation-Hardened CMOS Library
11:20 AM P. Maillard, Vanderbilt University A Radiation-Hardened Delay-Locked Loop Design Utilizing Differential Delay Line Topology
11:40 AM P. Obiomon, Prairie View A&M Univ. Layout Guidelines to Minimize Latchup in CMOS Circuits Using Guard Rings
12:00 - 1:00 PM Lunch
Invited Talk
1:10 PM Jeff Titus, NSWC-Crane Update Perspective of SEB and SEGR in Power MOSFETs (tentative title)
Session B: Destructive Single-Event Effects
Chair: R. Harboe Sørensen, ESA-Ret.
1:50 PM T. R. Oldham, Dell-Perot Government Systems / NASA GSFC Investigation of Current Spike Phenomena During Heavy Ion Irradiation in NAND Flash Memories
2:10 PM S. Liu, International Rectifier Effects of Ion Species on SEB Failure Voltage of Power DMOSFET
2:30 PM R. L. Ladbury, NASA/GSFC Challenges of Rate Estimation for Destructive and Disruptive Single-Event Effects
2:50 - 3:20 PM Break
Open Forum Panel Discussion
Moderator: P. McNulty, Clemson University
3:20 PM - ?? Destructive Event Signatures in Flash Memories NASA/GSFC, NASA/JPL-Caltech, ESA/ESTEC, University of Padova
5:30 - 9:00 PM Reception and Industrial Exhibits
5:30 - 6:30 PM Cocktails and Appetizers
6:30 - 9:00 PM Reception
9:00 - 11:00 PM Teardown for Industrial Exhibits
Wednesday, 13 April
7:30-8:30 AM Continental Breakfast
Session C: Single-Event Transients
Chair: M. Gadlage, NWSC-Crane
8:30 AM S. Buchner, Naval Research Laboratory Comparison of Single Event Transients Generated by Pulsed Lasers at NRL, IMS, EADS and JPL
8:50 AM P. Eaton, Micro-RDC NBTI as the True Cause for DSET Pulse Broadening
9:10 AM N. J. Gaspard, Vanderbilt University Effect of Latchup Mitigation Techniques on Well Potential Modulation and Single-Event-Transient Pulse Widths
9:30 AM N. D. Pate, Vanderbilt University Application of Scattering Parameter De-Embedding to the Reconstruction of Single Event Transients
9:50 AM H. Barnaby, Arizona State University Analytical Model for Transient Radiation Effects in Floating Body SOI Transistors
10:10 - 10:30 Break
Invited Talk
10:30 AM Reed Lawrence, BAE Systems Single Event Effect Considerations in Test Methods and Standards under Review at JEDEC Meetings
Session D: Single-Event Test Methods
Chair: E. Cannon, Boeing
11:00 AM M. R. Shaneyfelt, Sandia National Labs SOI Substrate Removal for SEE Characterization: Techniques and Applications
11:20 AM R. Schwank, Sandia National Labs Comparison of Single and Two-Photon Absorption for Laser Characterization of Single-Event Upsets in SOI SRAMs
11:40 AM S. Buchner, Naval Research Laboratory Variable Depth Bragg Peak Method For Single Event Effects Testing
12:00 - 1:00 PM Lunch
Session D: Single-Event Test Methods (cont.)
Chair: W. Heidergott, General Dynamics
1:10 PM D. McMorrow, Naval Research Laboratory Single-Event Effects Induced by Two-Photon Absorption: Recent Results and Developments
1:30 PM M. P. King, Vanderbilt University The Implications of Ion Track Structure for Single-Event Effect Analysis
1:50 PM V. Ferlet-Cavrois, ESA/ESTEC Influence of beam conditions and energy for SEE testing of power MOSFETs, analog and digital components
2:10 PM J. A. Pellish, NASA/GSFC Low-Energy Proton Testing Using Cyclotron Sources
Session E: Product & Technology Evaluation
Chair: M. Shoga, Consultant
2:30 PM K. Lilja, Robust Chip Inc. Predictive Analysis, Comparisons, and Optimization of Single Event Soft Errors in Flip-Flops at 40nm and 28nm Technology Nodes
2:50 PM H. Puchner, Cypress Semiconductor Comprehensive Radiation Study of a High Speed 72Mbit Quad Data Rate SRAM for Space Applications
3:10 - 3:40 PM Break
3:40 PM S. Armstrong, NSWC-Crane/Vanderbilt University Single-Event Vulnerability of Multi-Protocol, Multi-Feature Communications Devices
4:00 PM P. E. Dodd, Sandia National Labs SEU Sensitivity and Distributions in CMOS Flip-Flops
4:20 PM P. McNulty, Clemson University When Are Soft Errors Not Single-Event Effects?
4:40 PM S. Guertin, NASA/JPL-Caltech Testing for Rare SEEs in Fault Tolerant Devices
6:00 - 8:00 PM Happy Hour
Thursday, April 14
7:30 - 8:30 AM Continental Breakfast
Session F: Single-Event Test Facilities
Chair: E. Cannon, Boeing
8:30 AM V. Skuratov, Joint Institute for Nuclear Research Roscosmos Ion Beam Line for SEE Testing at U400M FLNR JINR Cyclotron
8:50 AM G. R. Allen, NASA/JPL-Caltech Current Status of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory’s Pulsed Laser Facility
Session G: FPGAs
Chair: S. Rezgui, Microsemi
9:10 AM M. D. Berg, MEI Technologies-NASA/GSFC The Evaluation of Combinatorial Logic and Routing Affects to Single Event Transient Propagation in the Actel RTAXs FPGA
9:30 AM C. Carmichael, Xilinx Inc. SEE Characterization and Recovery Mechanisms of MGTs in Space-grade Virtex-5 FPGAs
9:50 AM V. Liberali, University of Milano Impact of Placement on SEU Sensitivity in SRAM-based FPGA
10:10 - 10:30 AM Break
10:30 AM R. Monreal, Southwest Research Institute Single-Event Characterization and Mitigation Techniques of DSPs Embedded in Space-Grade FPGAs
10:50 AM G. Swift, Xilinx Inc. Techniques for Identifying SET Sources with Examples from Virtex-5QV Testing
11:10 AM S. Rezgui, Microsemi Corp. First SEE Characterization of the Analog Block of the 0.13 μm Fusion Mixed-Signal Flash-Based FPGA
11:30 AM End of Technical Session
2:00 PM Volleyball Session Chair: Dale McMorrow, NRL



General Chair: Veronique Ferlet-Cavrois, European Space Agency
Technical Program Chair: Nadim Haddad, BAE Systems
Local Arrangements & Industrial Exhibit Chairwoman: Penny Meeker, US-Semi Conductor Corporation
Treasurer: Bill Lotshaw, The Aerospace Corporation
Registration Services: Susan Hunt, Stamp Services

The Symposium is supported by the Defense Threat Reduction Agency, the NASA Electronic Parts and Packaging Program, The Aerospace Corporation, the Naval Research Laboratory, and Vanderbilt University.